(Movie Review) The Kid Who Would Be King // Spoiler-free

Director and Screenplay/Written by Joe Cornish

Produced by Nira Park, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner

Language: English

Starring:
Louis Ashbourne Serkis, Tom Taylor, Rebecca Ferguson, Patrick Stewart, and Angus Imrie

Synopsis:
Old-school magic meets the modern world when young Alex stumbles upon the mythical sword Excalibur. He soon unites his friends and enemies, and they become knights who join forces with the legendary wizard, Merlin. Together, they must save mankind from the wicked enchantress Morgana and her army of supernatural warriors.

Review

I am not a fan of King Arthur retellings (except the Disney version) so I wasn’t sure whether I was going to like it but since this movie took an unexpected turn, it caught me by surprise.

I was completely hooked like an eagle sinking its claws into the prey’s flesh. I WANTED MORE!

The movie had a good world building as the path was clear and was easy to follow and nope, I didn’t trip on any pebbles. I like how they cast the characters with different backgrounds, more towards diversity. It was entertaining to watch these characters in action, especially Merlin (I am already a fan.)

Acting-wise; there was a lot of British humour which I enjoyed. Kudos to the scriptwriter, Joe Cornish who made me laugh and smile throughout the film. Also, Angus Imrie did a good job at acting as Merlin. Since Merlin ages backwards in the movie, Imrie really captured how a historical figure would have given a chance to live and talk in the modern world. 

The continuity was good though some parts I feel that they should have made it a bit tighter. All in all, it was still entertaining and exciting. Even though the movie was 2 hours long, they managed to introduce a magic system. It was simple, thus, it was easy to absorb.

I like how they play around the idea of a ‘chosen one’ trope and sort of made it their own with their own twist. And this movie gave me some Harry Potter vibes, probably because of the wizard, Merlin who changed himself into an animal which was thrilling.

Overall, I rate it 8.7/10

Well, that concludes my review. I totally recommend this movie to all the fantasy lovers out there, who want a taste of an adventure!

Alex is signing off.

Copyright (©) of alexwritesandsings

Leave a comment