(Book Review) Karma’s Children: Discovery by Maverick Moses // Spoiler-Free

I received an advance reader copy of ‘Karma’s Children: Discovery’ from the author in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.

Title: Karma’s Children: Discovery (Karma’s Children #1)

Author: Maverick Moses

Genre: Dark Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Mastermind Resource Group

Goodreads Synopsis: After a tragic accident leaves a fellow high school student dead, Krista, Klause, and Kevin Atwood find themselves linked to each other, and entangled in a mysterious force that threatens
the lives of those around them.

Their mother, the physical embodiment of Karma, herself, has no idea what’s happening to her children—which leaves Krista, Klause, and Kevin alone to discover the purpose of their potentially sinister birthright.

Now, thrust into the grey area of a world that seems black and white on the surface, the children struggle to figure out the true nature of their dangerous new abilities, while getting pulled by two opposing forces hoping to corrupt their hearts and guide them against the other.

Will the Atwood siblings figure out how to control their powers before anyone else gets hurt? Or will they become corrupted by the darkness of their newfound abilities?

The first of a twisted urban fantasy trilogy, Karma’s Children: Discovery is wrought with hidden desires, evil in disguise, and action-packed mystery—perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Kim Chance.

Review

The writing style was a bit odd to me at first and it took me a few pages to get into the characters’ heads. It was a bit slow in the beginning but it did pick up the pace. I realised it was written in third person omniscient which I am not too familiar with. I usually cannot sync with the style but this book made it easy for me to understand, and it wasn’t that chaotic.
 
I felt like it had too many characters and I couldn’t keep track of each and every one of them. I wish the author had toned it down. Or maybe I am not used to reading about so many characters all at once.
 
All in all, I love the plotline as it is different. I love originality! It gave me some Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children vibes because of its intensity, level of darkness, and the richness of an unusual story. It is action-packed and has a retro feel to the tone of the story and characters. And that kept me entertained throughout.
 
I rate this 4/5.
 
If you are fans of Derek Landy’s The Demon Road Trilogy and Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine Home for Peculiar Children, I recommend this series.
 
“Karma’s Children: Discovery” is out now!!!
 

Alex is signing out.

Copyright (©) of alexwritesandsings

Book’s Links

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Author’s Links

Website | YouTube | Twitter | Instagram

(Book Review) Through Her Eyes by Sophie Fahy // Spoiler-Free

I received an advance reader copy of ‘Through Her Eyes’ from the author in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.

Title: Through Her Eyes

Author: Sophie Fahy

Genre: Mystery/Suspense

Publisher: Blossom Spring Publishing

Synopsis:
LIFE IS NOT ALWAYS BLACK AND WHITE, SOMETIMES IT’S A THOUSAND SHADES OF GREY.

Seventeen-year-old, beloved Alyssa Darlington has always been a party girl: quick-witted, fierce and very smart; with a strong future ahead of her. But after surviving a brutal attack at her best friend’s end-of-summer house party, the only thing that seems fitting for Alyssa is revenge.

AND WHEN THIS BECOMES HER TWISTED REALITY, IT’S EASY FOR THE SHADOWS TO TAKE OVER.

After something so traumatic, Alyssa struggles to stay at the top of the social ladder – climbing to the top is hard – trying to stay there while, newly, partially blind, is even harder.

There’s a weight upon her shoulders.

Quietly searching for answers, Alyssa unlocks memories and reveals secrets that should have been buried.

THREE SUSPECTS. ONE LOVE.
A WHOLE LOT OF FAMILY DRAMA

Review

I am not a fan of reading prologue but this one made me want to turn the page and read what is going to happen. It hooked me.
 
Though the beginning pulled me into the story until a few pages in, the pacing began to slow down. But the narrative still kept me engaged in the story. A lot was going on. Some were intense, some weren’t.
 
I like that the story focused on developing the characters, getting to know them. I feel there’s too much on the romance side which I didn’t enjoy. For me, I prefer reading slow-burn romance so when it comes to love in books, I am very picky.  I also wish the story focused more on the difficulty of being disabled. I wanted to see the pain in the family’s eyes, the struggle and how would they cope with it. I wanted to see more emotions and supportive moments with friends.
 
Despite all this, that didn’t make me stop reading it for I wanted to know who was behind this. I like how Fahy played around, twisting the truth here and there, confusing me. It was fun — guessing who the culprit was. Although I sensed a twist in the end, aha, I didn’t figure out who had done it. I love it when the author steers me into thinking it was someone else who was the culprit. Even so, this was a good mystery with a side of drama and romance.
 
I rate this 3.5/5
 
“Through Her Eyes” is coming out on 28 August 2019.
 

Alex is signing out.

Copyright (©) of alexwritesandsings

Book’s Links

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Author’s Links

Website | YouTube | Twitter | Instagram