(Movie Review) Spider-Man: Far From Home // Spoiler-Free

 Based on Spider-Man by Stan Lee and Steve Ditko

Directed by Jon Watts

Written by Chris McKenna and Erik Sommers

Produced by Kevin Feige and Amy Pascal

Starring: Tom Holland, Samuel L. Jackson, Zendaya, Cobie Smulders, Jon Favreau, J. B. Smoove, Jacob Batalon, Martin Starr, Marisa Tomei, and Jake Gyllenhaal.

Genre: Action

Synopsis: Parker is recruited by Nick Fury and Mysterio to face the Elementals while he is on a school trip to Europe.

Review

Not what I expected. I didn’t expect it to start as it did.

I enjoyed watching Peter Parker as a student, going on trips and juggling his crazy life. Now that is one thing I would like to see more of. His relationship with Mary Jane is simply different from the other versions/remakes. I love watching Peter’s stress building up from multitasking two things at once. Yes, I know I’m cruel but I live for that. Seeing the characters struggling is far more interesting and entertaining. We can get another sense of his student life as well as being Spider-Man. I need more of that. I also love that the movie portrays the awkwardness in teenagers which is rarely shown in shows.
 
I am glad that there are bits here and there of students noticing that their classmate is missing. And thank God that they didn’t act as though Peter Parker doesn’t exist as in most superhero movies tend to do. I love it that we as the viewers don’t have to go through another cycle of someone guessing who’s under the mask. To avoid spoilers, I can’t say more about this. It’s a  superhero cliche. It’s tiring and that needs to change but thank goodness it did in this movie. Nobody is that dumb after all. Well, that concludes my review.
 
I rate this 9/10.
 
I am looking forward to the third movie. THAT ENDING had me stoked, and I cannot wait for the next one!!!

Alex is signing out.

Copyright (©) of alexwritesandsings

(Book Review) Karma’s Children: Discovery by Maverick Moses // Spoiler-Free

I received an advance reader copy of ‘Karma’s Children: Discovery’ from the author in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.

Title: Karma’s Children: Discovery (Karma’s Children #1)

Author: Maverick Moses

Genre: Dark Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Mastermind Resource Group

Goodreads Synopsis: After a tragic accident leaves a fellow high school student dead, Krista, Klause, and Kevin Atwood find themselves linked to each other, and entangled in a mysterious force that threatens
the lives of those around them.

Their mother, the physical embodiment of Karma, herself, has no idea what’s happening to her children—which leaves Krista, Klause, and Kevin alone to discover the purpose of their potentially sinister birthright.

Now, thrust into the grey area of a world that seems black and white on the surface, the children struggle to figure out the true nature of their dangerous new abilities, while getting pulled by two opposing forces hoping to corrupt their hearts and guide them against the other.

Will the Atwood siblings figure out how to control their powers before anyone else gets hurt? Or will they become corrupted by the darkness of their newfound abilities?

The first of a twisted urban fantasy trilogy, Karma’s Children: Discovery is wrought with hidden desires, evil in disguise, and action-packed mystery—perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Kim Chance.

Review

The writing style was a bit odd to me at first and it took me a few pages to get into the characters’ heads. It was a bit slow in the beginning but it did pick up the pace. I realised it was written in third person omniscient which I am not too familiar with. I usually cannot sync with the style but this book made it easy for me to understand, and it wasn’t that chaotic.
 
I felt like it had too many characters and I couldn’t keep track of each and every one of them. I wish the author had toned it down. Or maybe I am not used to reading about so many characters all at once.
 
All in all, I love the plotline as it is different. I love originality! It gave me some Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children vibes because of its intensity, level of darkness, and the richness of an unusual story. It is action-packed and has a retro feel to the tone of the story and characters. And that kept me entertained throughout.
 
I rate this 4/5.
 
If you are fans of Derek Landy’s The Demon Road Trilogy and Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine Home for Peculiar Children, I recommend this series.
 
“Karma’s Children: Discovery” is out now!!!
 

Alex is signing out.

Copyright (©) of alexwritesandsings

Book’s Links

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Author’s Links

Website | YouTube | Twitter | Instagram